Erich Walser Generations Prize

About the Erich Walser Generations Prize

The Erich Walser Generations Prize honors individuals who have made an exemplary international contribution to improving or advancing understanding between generations.

The Prize is awarded by the World Demographic & Ageing Forum jointly with Prof. Dr. Günter Müller-Stewens from the University of St. Gallen and sponsored by the Helvetia Insurance Company.

The jury consists of delegates of the Board of Directors of the World Demographic & Ageing Forum, Prof. Dr. Günter Müller-Stewens of the University of St. Gallen and Philipp Gmür, CEO of the Helvetia Group.

Fact Sheet

Previous prize winners

Adolf Ogi (2016)

former President of Switzerland

ICRC (2009)

International Red Cross and Red Crescent Movement

Mary Robinson (2008)

former United Nations High Commissioner
for Human Rights

Dirie Waris (2007)

Social Activist and UN Special Ambassador for the elimination
of female genital mutilation

Václav Havel (2006)

former President of Czechoslovakia

Helmut Schmidt (2005)

former German Chancellor